Great New Yorker article by Ted Haggard’s BBF

28Apr09

I can’t believe I’m beginning to get a collection of tags on Ted Haggard. Who knew?

Amen, Brother

by Paul Rudnick April 27, 2009

What my therapist says is that I am a heterosexual with issues.
—Ted Haggard.

Thank you, Ted, and God bless you, Ted’s therapist. My name is Stan Belker, and090427_r18421_p233 I’m the pastor here at Our Lady of the Irredeemable Sinner, in Nashville, and, just like Ted, I, too, have struggled with my sexuality and have come out the other side, into the good green pastures of Christian family life.

As a teen-ager, I found that I was attracted both to serving Our Lord and to Jimmy Wiggins, the assistant coach of my high-school soccer team. I was in torment, and I would pray for hours on end, asking God why He would command me to love Him so deeply and at the same time just go and create Jimmy’s snug little soccer shorts. I told my clergyman, Father Josiah, about my conflicting urges, and he tried to reconcile them by explaining that from certain angles Jesus looks just like Dennis Quaid. Still, I had agonizing doubts: was I just experiencing a completely normal phase of adolescent uncertainty, or were Jimmy Wiggins’s firm, high buttocks really a calling card from Satan? CLICK HERE FOR FULL ARTICLE.

No Responses Yet to “Great New Yorker article by Ted Haggard’s BBF”

  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

